Flying with Anna

Well, my hiatus from blogging didn’t last very long, did it? But when I have an opportunity to celebrate a fellow author’s new book, I take it! And today I have the honor of interviewing Anna del C. Dye about her new novel, Shahira & the Flying Elfs.

Image

Anna, thank you for taking the time to visit my blog today.

What genre do you prefer to write?

I love medieval fantasy. That makes my series High Fantasy.

What do you do to relax when you’re not writing?

I go camping and take the canoe. My husband and I love the quietness and beauty of nature.

So do I! Do you have a favorite movies?

Yes, my most favorite movie is “The Lord of the Rings,” and now “The Hobbit.” Second will be “Harry Potter,” with “Independence Day” and “Narnia” as close third places.

If you could travel anywhere, to any time period, where would you go?

Any place medieval and with lots of castles.

You’d love Germany. It has loads of castles!  I understand this new book is number six in your Elf Series, but it’s a stand-alone book and can be read separately.

All my books are all stand alone, including the Silent Warrior Trilogy. The difference is, in the trilogy we follow the main characters throughout three crucial times in their lives. The rest of the books are separate stories with their own characters and situations. The only thing that ties all books is the cities they live in.

That’s interesting! Please tell us about this new book.

It’s called Shahira & the Flying Elfs. Here is a teaser:

Flying takes you to new heights, but still you don’t see if you try not to.

Shahira is a she-eagle who lives with her father, mother, and baby brother. Her dream is to find a stripling young eagle for her mate. But mating is a ritual that happens in the sky and she cannot fly. She keeps telling herself that soon she will be able to, but every time she tries she falls.

The source of Shahira’s problems is a character named Artoris. He is almost a wizard and he suffers from schizophrenia. He hears and sees people talking to him all the time. This makes him very dangerous, especially as he thinks his brother, the head of the Wizarding School, is against him. A crazy wizard, on his own, pursued by his personal demons, makes for interesting suspense.

And let’s not forget Llorradinn. He is the Elf who finds love in Shahira’s nest and who is willing to do anything for her. As a true Elf, he would sacrifice his life for Shahira if it would save her.

Where did you get your inspiration for this series?

From Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings.” My son got me hooked on the books, and when the movies came out my imagination went wild. I have so many characters wanting to be first in my head I couldn’t write fast enough.

You love to write elf stories. What intrigued you most about writing these books?

What intrigues me most is how my Elfs came to me with their personalities clear and unwavering. They aren’t perfect, but they are certainly far ahead of any human I have met in real life.

The world of my elfs is so pure and humble that it inspires many of my readers and me, because you can’t find that in real life, and as humans we yearn for it. The way elfs love and care for the she-elfs is humbling and the way the she-elfs reciprocate to their companions’ care and love is heavenly. I believe that is what every human being wants in life, someone who will see past our imperfections and treat us with utmost respect and love, in spite of it all.

What kind of research did you do for this book?

Eagles are the main characters in this tale, so I needed to ask questions about their lives and what they are like. The person in charge of the eagles in Tracy Aviary, a park in Utah, was very nice and let me pick his brain. For my artists, we Googled eagles and had hundreds of pictures to choose from.

Please tell us a little about yourself, Anna. What is your background?Image

 

I was born in Valparaiso, Chile. I came to the USA at age 21 to be married two weeks later. I have lived in Utah all my married life, and have traveled to many places in the USA. We are the parents of three princes and a princess. I love ruins, medieval and fantasy things.

Anna, where can we find you and your books? I understand you have something special taking place right now.

I am are having a Book Giveaway from Jun 29 to July 16. You have a chance to win a PDF format of my Young Adult novel, Shahira & the Flying Elfs. I will be giving one E-book to every blog that participate in the blog tour. So leave a comment if you want to be entered.

You can find me at:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AnnaDelC

You can find all my books at:

My website: http://www.annadelc.com

Amazon: http://ning.it/19iThs3

Barns & Noble. http://ning.it/1744E2U

Anna, thank you very much for spending some time with me today!

 

About diannread

I'm a 23-year USAF veteran, wife of a NASA rocket scientist and martial artist, "mom" of four crazy cats, and author of military science fiction and YA military space fantasy. Yep, it's a wild ride! Dare to get aboard?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flying with Anna

  1. It look awesome Diann. Thank you so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

