Every World Has Its Legends

One thing I want to do on this blog is feature and promote my fellow authors and illustrators and their work as much as my own. On January 23rd I’ll have an interview with Mikey Brooks, artist/illustrator and author of children’s books, including the delightful BEAN’S DRAGONS stories. On the 28th I’ll spotlight Monique Bucheger, a classmate at one of David Farland’s writing workshops last year and author of the fun and touching GINNIE WEST middle-grade series.

Mikey’s and Monique’s characters and stories are very different from my SERGEY CHRONICLES (military science fiction) and SEVENTH SHAMAN (young adult space adventure fantasy) books, but each is a budding legend in his or her own world.

One of Mikey’s recent projects was illustrating a children’s Christmas book called “Lucius and the Christmas Star.” This story about a young camel named Lucius, who travels with the wise men to find the Christ child, is bound to become a new Christmas legend, especially for families with young children.

And how many pre-teen girls have wished they had a horse and lived on a farm? I certainly did! Monique’s determined 12-year-old protagonist, Ginnie West, is the vicarious fulfillment of young horse-lovers’ dreams. I wish Monique’s books had been published when I was 11 or 12 and saving every dime to buy my own horse!

Legends come in all sizes, shapes, colors, and ages, and they enrich our “real” worlds. Mikey’s and Monique’s books are both available on Amazon.com. I invite you to check them out and bring some new legends into your life and your children’s.

About diannread

I'm a 23-year USAF veteran, wife of a NASA rocket scientist and martial artist, "mom" of four crazy cats, and author of military science fiction and YA military space fantasy. Yep, it's a wild ride! Dare to get aboard?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

